

# Colorado Scenic and Historic Byways Commission

# July 2018 Meeting Agenda

**Time:** Thursday, July 26, 2018 10 am to 12 pm

**Location:** Cripple Creek Heritage Center

9283 CO-67, Cripple Creek, CO 80813, USA

**Call-in Option (RSVP required)**: Contact Amanda B amandabarker(at)gmail.com

# Agenda

- 1. Approve April Commission Minutes (5 minutes) Amanda B.
- 2. Silver Thread Byway Presentation (30 minutes) Kelly Ortiz, USFS Forest Landscape Architect
- 3. Updates on byways outreach, new assignments (10 minutes) Amanda H.
- 4. Byways funding/structure working committee (30 minutes) Andy H. and Amanda H.
- 5. CMP Template (20 minutes) Sandra Harris, JVA
  - a. Byways Survey on Corridor Management Plans
- 6. 2018 Annual Byways Meeting Planning (10 minutes) Amanda H.
- 7. Commission Open Floor for shared updates (15 minutes)
  - a. State Historical Fund grant proposal Jill
  - b. DIA and Capitol photo display Charlotte
  - c. Wayfinding Assessments Lenore
  - d. Recap of Partners in the Outdoors conference May 2018 Lenore
  - e. Southern Colo Tourism Summit/EV Charging Stations Lenore
  - f. Update on Preserving the Historic Roads conference Lenore
  - g. Additional updates?

## **Remaining 2018 Meetings**

October 25 10am-12pm\*, Colorado Department of Transportation (CDOT) Headquarters,

Cloverleaf Conference Room 353, 2829 W. Howard Pl., Denver, 80204

(\*date and time to be set during this 7/26 meeting after commissioner discussion)

October 29 **Byways Annual Meeting** in conjunction with Governor's Tourism Conference

October 29 - 31, Vail, CO

Proposed: commission meeting 10am-12pm, lunch and annual meeting afternoon

## **Upcoming Conferences**

September 13-16 Preserving the Historic Roads (PTHR), Fort Collins

October 29-31 Governor's Tourism Conference, Vail

#### **Commission:**

Amanda Barker, Conservation/Open Space Rep, Commission Secretary

Nathan Boyless, History Colorado

Charlotte Bumgarner, Eastern Byways, Commission Vice-Chair

Jill Corbin, Colorado Tourism Office

Daniel Cressy, USDA Forest Service

Kathy Hall, Transportation Commission

Amanda Hill, Member at Large (GOCO), Commission Chair

Rep. Barbara McLachlan, State Legislature

Jack Placchi BLM Representative

Shelia Sears, Colorado Creative Industries

Roger Ben Wilson, Western Byways

# **EX-OFFICIO** Members (designated through Dept. Executive Directors):

- \*Andy Hill, Dept. of Local Affairs, Community Development Office
- \*Cynthia Nieb, History Colorado, City of La Junta
- \*Debra Perkins-Smith, Dept. of Transportation, Div. of Transportation Development
- \*Gary Thorson, Dept. of Natural Resources, Colorado Parks & Wildlife

# **Colorado Dept. of Transportation:**

Lenore Bates, Colorado Scenic and Historic Byways Program Manager

# **Program Vision:**

Guiding travelers to experience and be inspired by treasured places that comprise Colorado's Scenic and Historic Byways. (Commission Approved 5/14/13)

#### **Program Definition:**

The Colorado Scenic and Historic Byways program is a statewide partnership intended to provide recreational, educational, and economic benefits to Coloradans and visitors by designating, interpreting, protecting, and promoting a system of outstanding touring routes in Colorado.

#### **Commission Mission:**

The Commission is a partnership to evaluate and designate the state's Scenic and Historic Byways and to develop and recommend funding sources and provide administrative support to sustain the byways for future generations. (Commission Approved 12/7/12)

## **Commission Bylaws:**

https://www.codot.gov/travel/scenic-byways/bywayscommission

###